On your iPad, iPhone or Mac, Safari may show a “Not Secure” warning message in the address bar when visiting some websites, indicating that you are visiting an insecure web page. So, what does that warning message mean, and should you visit a web site if Safari says “Not Secure”?
The short answer is that Safari labels all unencrypted websites as “Not Secure” in the URL bar. These websites are served over Hyper Text Transfer Protocol (HTTP).
A website can either use the HTTP (insecure) or HTTPS (secure) connection. Hyper Text Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) is the secure version of HTTP. All HTTP sites will display a “Not Secure” image in the address bar when you browse the web using Safari. HTTPS-enabled sites will not show this message, instead they will display a lock image. HTTPS is a form of web encryption. When you load a web site over HTTPS, your connection to the site is encrypted meaning it is secure. HTTP, however, does not secure the connection between you and the websites you visit.
Thus, you can easily check if a website is safe to visit. In Safari, you may see the security status. If you see a lock image (see below), this mean that that particular website is secure.
When you click the lock image, a popup will appear saying “Safari is using an encrypted connection to macreports.com. Encryption with a digital certificate keeps information private as it’s sent to or from the https website macreports.com” (see below):
However, if you see the Not Secure message (see below), that may mean that that particular website is not safe to visit because the site isn’t using a private connection:
HTTPS sites are more secure because they use a certificate to prove their identity to Safari. Furthermore, all major browsers, Safari, Chrome, Firefox warn users about insecure web pages.