Can Someone See My Location If My iPhone…

Many iPhone users have questions about when another person can see their location. There are various settings available on iPhone that involve location, and in this article, we will tackle what some of those settings mean and which allow someone to see your current location. We will also answer the following specific questions:

  • Can someone see my location if I’m in Airplane Mode?
  • Can someone see my location if they blocked me?
  • Can someone see my location if my phone is off?
  • Can someone see my location if my data is off?

First, we explain the usual ways that someone can see your iPhone’s location.

How your iPhone shares your location

The Find My app

People in the find my app

The Find My app is the main way to share your location with friends or family. There are a couple of ways another person could use Find My to see your (your device’s) location.

  • If someone has your Apple ID and password, they can use Find My to see your iPhone’s (and your other devices’) location. If you don’t want that person to use your Apple ID anymore, your can change your Apple ID password.
  • You have shared your location with family and friends using Share My Location.

Share My Location Settings

To enable, disable or change your Share My Location settings:

  1. On your iPhone, open Settings.
  2. Tap on your Apple ID name at the top, then tap on Find My.
  3. To enable or disable Share My Location, toggle the switch next to Share My Location.
  4. You can also see a list of family members under Family, along with information about whether or not you have allowed them to see your location. If you want to stop sharing with someone, tap on their name, then tap on Stop Sharing My Location.

Sharing location in Messages

You can share your location from the Messages app. If you are wondering about how this works, see How to Send Your Location Using Messages on iPhone.

Can someone see my location if I’m in Airplane Mode?

Airplane Mode disconnects your iPhone from Wi-Fi and cellular data. This means your iPhone won’t be transmitting your location through Wi-Fi or cellular, but there are a few things you need to check:

airplane mode in control center
  • First, if you don’t already know how to put your iPhone in Airplane Mode, the easiest way is from the Control Center. Swipe down from the top-right corner of your screen (swipe up from the bottom of the screen for iPhones with a Home button) and tap the button with an airplane symbol. You can also easily disable Wi-Fi and Bluetooth by tapping on their buttons in the Control Center.
  • If you have previously turned on Wi-Fi while in Airplane Mode, Wi-Fi will still be enabled the next time you turn on Airplane Mode. If you want Wi-Fi off, just turn it off separately after you turn on Airplane Mode.
  • Airplane Mode does not automatically turn off Bluetooth. You can also turn off Bluetooth separately after you turn on Airplane Mode (then, the next time you turn on Airplane Mode, it should turn off automatically).
    • Bluetooth can be used to track your phone’s location via the Find My network. The Find My network uses other Apple devices to locate yours. You can turn off the Find My network by going to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Share My Location > Find My iPhone and toggling the switch next to Find My network.

Can someone see my location if they blocked me?

If you don’t want someone to see your location, you should remove them from Find My. Open the Find My app on your iPhone and make sure the People tab is selected at the bottom of the screen. Tap on the person’s name, then tap on Stop Sharing My Location. The person you stop sharing with won’t be directly notified, but they won’t be able to see you in their list, and if you start sharing your location with them again, they will get a notification. For more on what happens when you block someone, see What Will Happen When You Block Someone on Your iPhone?

Can someone see my location if my iPhone is off?

If your iPhone is completely turned off, it is not transmitting its location via Wi-Fi or cellular. Your iPhone may transmit its last known location before you turn it off, or it runs out of charge. Also, you may want to turn off the Find My network. The Find My network uses other Apple devices and Bluetooth to find your iPhone when it is otherwise offline. To turn off the Find My network, go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services and tap on Share My Location, then tap on Find My iPhone and toggle the switch next to Find My network.

Can someone see my location if my data is off?

In order for someone to see your location, your iPhone needs to transmit that data. Usually, this means that your phone needs a Wi-Fi or cellular data connection. However, even with both Wi-Fi and cellular data turned off, your phone might be found using the Find My network, which uses other Apple devices to locate yours. You can turn off the Find My network by going to Settings > Privacy > Location Services and tapping on Share My Location, then tap on Find My iPhone and toggle the switch next to Find My network.

More information

For more information on controlling the location settings on your iPhone, see How to Make Sure No One Can See Your iPhone’s Location.

Related articles

Dr. Stacey Butler is a tech writer at macReports covering news, how-tos, and user guides. She is a longtime Mac and iPhone user and holds a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana. Here is her LinkedIn profile.

Thank you for choosing to leave a comment.

Please note the following:

  • All comments are moderated.
  • Your email will NOT be published nor shared.
  • All SPAM comments will be deleted.
  • Please see our comment policy page for more info.

Leave a Comment